Get Adobe Flash player

Main Menu

Daily Radiogram

28 29 30 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1

Find Us On


Dayton City Council adopts voter-approved rollback tax rate

Dayton City Council met Monday and canvassed the votes from the May 5th City Council Election, as well as the special election asking voters to approve reducing the city’s property tax rate. As reported, that tax rollback election on May 5th passed 311 to 84. Dayton council members voted to lower the city’s property tax rate from the council approved 67 cents per $100 of assessed property value to the rollback rate of 65.5 cents per $100. Dayton City Manager Theo Melancon said the city is prepared to deal with the reduced tax rate and correspondingly lower revenue for city services. Also at Monday’s meeting, Dayton Municipal Judge Alan Conner administered the oath of office to newly elected Dayton City Council member Wendall Null at Position #1 and swore in incumbent Alvin Burris to his first full term on council. Mr. Burris was initially appointed to fill out the remaining term of retiring Dayton council member Dwight Pruitt. The third council member on the May 5th ballot, Sherial Lawson, was absent from Monday’s Dayton City Council meeting. In other action, council voted to change the city’s motto. The Dayton city motto has been “Dayton – Making the Difference” for many years. At the suggestion of Dayton Mayor Jeff Lambright and Mayor Pro-Tem John Johnson, Dayton council members voted unanimously to change the city motto to “In God We Trust.”

Daily Audio News

Local Area Bells

Local Weather


Hot Links

No events